Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson Becker has beaten Kepa Arrizabalaga (along with nine other world-class no.1s) to win the inaugural Yachine Trophy, a brand new goalkeeper-only award.

Named after the legendary Soviet shot-stopper Lev Yashin, the trophy will now be given to the best goalkeeper by France Football at the Ballon d’Or ceremony every year.

Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Ederson (Manchester City), Andre Onana (Ajax), Wojciech Szczesny (Juventus), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid), Samir Handanovic (Inter Milan), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham) and Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona) were nominated as well.

Kepa joined Chelsea for a record-breaking fee of £71 million from Athletic Bilbao last summer following Thibaut Courtois’ departure to Real Madrid.

The Spaniard was a key player for the Blues last season as Maurizio Sarri’s side finished third in the Premier League and defeated Arsenal 4-1 in the Europa League final.