On Wednesday night in Istanbul, the former West Ham goalkeeper became a Liverpool hero.
Adrian, who has been drafted into Liverpool’s XI following Alisson’s injury against Norwich, saved a crucial penalty in the UEFA Super Cup to defeat Chelsea.
The match finished 2-2 after extra time.
Olivier Giroud’s opener was canceled out by Sadio Mane in the 90 minutes.
Mane then put Liverpool ahead, before a Jorginho penalty took the showpiece to spot-kicks.
Why VAR didn’t penalise Adrian vs Tammy Abraham
Tammy Abraham was the fall-guy in the shootout.
The Chelsea striker saw his effort saved by Adrian.
However, it was plain to see that Adrian was stood off his line when Abraham took his penalty.
VAR was active in the game, but the officials didn’t call for the spot-kick to be retaken.
As confirmed by ESPN’s Dale Johnson, there’s been a change to the laws regarding VAR and penalties.
Adrian penalty save update.
Been informed that Roberto Rosetti, UEFA Chief Refereeing Officer, briefed before the Super Cup that goalkeepers will only be penalised by VAR for leaving line if it's a blatant and clear violation of new law. #LIVCHE #SuperCup #LFC #CFC pic.twitter.com/stVo9R8q7x
— Dale Johnson (@DaleJohnsonESPN) August 15, 2019